Skip to main content

11 New Cities of Literature Join UNESCO Creative Cities Network

Dublin UNESCO City of Literature wishes to extend the warmest of welcomes to the following 11 new Cities of Literature who joined our Network in November 2020:

  • Angoulême (France)
  • Beirut (Lebanon)
  • Exeter (United Kingdom)
  • Kuhmo (Finland)
  • Lahore (Pakistan)
  • Leeuwarden (Netherlands)
  • Nanjing (China)
  • Odessa (Ukraine)
  • Slemani (Iraq)
  • Wonju (Republic of Korea)
  • Wrocław (Poland)

The member cities that form part of the Network come from all continents and regions with different income levels and populations. They work together towards a common mission: placing creativity and the creative economy at the core of their urban development plans to make cities safe, resilient, inclusive and sustainable, in line with the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

We look forward to celebrating and showcasing stories from the 11 newly designated UNESCO Cities of Literature. The UNESCO Cities of Literature is a leading collaborative network of 39 cities with a shared goal to develop and promote the role of literature and creativity in our cities. It brings together a wide range of cultural professionals to share and inspire each other, strengthen exchanges, promote freedom of speech and further develop frameworks for collaboration in key areas.  

Share This