Skip to main content

WB Yeats “Michael Robartes and the Dancer” Celebrating the Centenary

The 28th January marks the 83rd anniversary of the death of W.B. Yeats and this year marks the centenary of  the publication of one of his most important collections “Michael Robartes and the Dancer” which includes well loved poems –  ‘Easter 1916’, ‘The Second Coming’ and ‘A Prayer for my Daughter’. 

Join the National Library of Ireland at 7pm on Thursday 28th January for readings of poems from this collection by Dublin poets Nessa O’Mahony and Peter Sirr, including a discussion on Yeats, his work and this important collection moderated by Garrett Fagan.

This is a free online event, please book here

Nessa O’Mahony
Nessa O’Mahony is a poet and novelist from Dublin. She has published five volumes of poetry, the most recent being The Hollow Woman and the Island (Salmon Poetry 2019), and is co-editor, with Alan Hayes, of Days of Clear Light, an anthology of poetry celebrating 40 years of Salmon Publishing, and publisher Jessie Lendennie.

Peter Sirr
Peter Sirr  has published ten poetry collections, of which the most recent are The Gravity Wave (2019), a Poetry Book Society recommendation and Sway (2016), versions of poems from the troubadour tradition. His novel for children, Black Wreath, was published in 2014. His radio dramas are broadcast on RTE, the national broadcaster. He teaches literary translation in the Centre for Literary and Cultural Translation, Trinity College and is a member of Aosdána.

Garrett Fagan
Garrett Fagan teaches literature at the National Library of Ireland  including classes on Yeats.


Share This