Skip to main content

Dublin UNESCO City of Literature

Dublin is the fourth UNESCO City of Literature, one of 53 UNESCO Cities of Literature worldwide.

With four Nobel prize winners (Yeats, Beckett, Shaw and Heaney), a brace of universities of global distinction in Trinity and UCD, over half a dozen books festivals, the internationally prestigious Dublin Literary Award and a world class new city library in the planning, it is without doubt that Ireland’s capital has literature in its blood.

The Literature designation is one of seven designations within the Creative Cities Network.

The Office is advised by a Management Group 2021 and a wider Steering Group and is part of Dublin City Libraries.

The work of the office is guided by a Strategic Plan 2020-2022

Dublin was appointed a UNESCO City of Literature following a detailed application, the bid document is available here.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required